Our Top Picks
An inexpensive business laptop should boot quickly, hold a full day of spreadsheets, email and video calls, and not lock you out of the apps your company uses. In this price range that usually means one of two routes: a renewed enterprise machine such as a Dell Latitude, or a new budget model with 8GB to 16GB of RAM. Below are ten listings covering both routes, with the fine print that titles bury: S mode, SD cards counted as storage, vague processors and Office wording. Treat every specification as a seller claim until you confirm it on the product page, and note that two listings are close variants of one laptop.
Quick picks

Phatom 15.6" FHD Laptop Computer 4GB RAM 128GB SSD Windows 11 Compatible | Upgradeable RAM+SSD,Pentium (Beats Celeron), Support UP to 2TB, 1080P HDMI, for Business, Student laptops for school
One of the home product options compared in this guide.
View on Amazon
HP Ultrabook 14 Laptop Computer Business Study & Home 2025, Lifetime MS Office for The Web + Windows 11 Home, Quad-Core Intel CPU
One of the home product options compared in this guide.
View on Amazon
HP 17 inch Business Laptop Computer • 2026 Edition • Latest AMD Ryzen 5 CPU • 16GB RAM • 512GB SSD • 17.3" FHD Display • Numeric Keypad • Long Battery Life • Windows 11 with Office 365 for The Web
One of the home product options compared in this guide.
View on Amazon
2026 Laptops Computer,15.6" Windows 11 Pro Laptop with Office 365 included,8GB RAM 256GB SSD,Intel Pentium Process,6H Battery,Mini HDMI,cam|Mic,Portable Thin Lap Top for College Student Business Work
One of the home product options compared in this guide.
View on Amazon
Dell Latitude 5420 14" FHD Business Laptop Computer, Intel Quad-Core i5-1145G7, 16GB DDR4 RAM, 256GB SSD, Camera, HDMI, Windows 11 Pro (Renewed)
One of the home product options compared in this guide.
View on Amazon
Lenovo Business 15.6" FHD Laptop, Intel Processor, 8GB DDR5, 128GB Storage | 1TB Cloud Storage, Office 365, Copilot AI, WiFi 6, USB-C, Long Battery Life, Windows 11, Arctic Grey, Type-C Hub
One of the home product options compared in this guide.
View on Amazon
HP 14" Business Laptop Computer with 1-Year Office 365, Intel Quad-Core N150 Processor, 4GB RAM 128GB UFS, Windows 11 Home, PLUSERA Earphones, Natural Silver
One of the home product options compared in this guide.
View on Amazon
HP 14" LED Business Laptop Computer with 1-Year Office 365, 4GB RAM 640GB Storage (128GB UFS + 512GB SD Card), Intel Quad-Core N150 Processor, Windows 11 S, PLUSERA Earphones, Willow Green
One of the home product options compared in this guide.
View on Amazon
Dell Latitude 7480 14" FHD Business Laptop Computer, Intel Core i5-6300U 2.4GHz to 3.0GHz, 8GB RAM, 256GB SSD, Latitude Laptop Windows 11 Pro (Renewed)
One of the home product options compared in this guide.
View on Amazon- HP 17-inch Ryzen 5 (16GB, 512GB) – best new spec sheet
- Dell Latitude 5420 renewed (i5-1145G7, 16GB) – best value on paper
- Lenovo Business 15.6-inch (8GB DDR5) – Wi-Fi 6 and hub
- NIAKUN 15.6-inch (Pro, 8GB, 256GB) – Pro on a budget
- Dell Latitude 7480 renewed (i5-6300U) – aged but business-class
- HP 15.6-inch (N200, 4GB) – light admin work
- HP 14-inch N150 (4GB, UFS) – basic email
- HP 14-inch N150 variant (640GB claim) – same, plus SD card
- Phatom 15.6-inch (4GB, upgradeable) – for tinkerers
- HP Ultrabook 14 (specs unstated) – ask questions first
All ten compared
| Model | Type | Key specs (title) | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| HP 17 | New, 17.3-inch | Ryzen 5, 16GB, 512GB SSD | Large-screen office work |
| Dell Latitude 5420 | Renewed, 14-inch | i5-1145G7, 16GB, 256GB SSD, Pro | Mobile professionals |
| Lenovo Business | New, 15.6-inch | Intel (model unstated), 8GB DDR5, 128GB | Light office use |
| NIAKUN | New, 15.6-inch | Pentium (model unstated), 8GB, 256GB, Pro | Basic admin |
| Dell Latitude 7480 | Renewed, 14-inch | i5-6300U, 8GB, 256GB SSD, Pro | Low-cost spare |
| HP 15.6 | New, 15.6-inch | N200, 4GB, 128GB SSD, S mode | Browser work |
| HP 14 N150 | New, 14-inch | N150, 4GB, 128GB UFS | |
| HP 14 N150 variant | New, 14-inch | N150, 4GB, 128GB UFS plus 512GB SD | |
| Phatom | New, 15.6-inch | Pentium, 4GB, 128GB SSD | DIY upgrades |
| HP Ultrabook 14 | New, 14-inch | Quad-core Intel, other specs unstated | Check the listing |
The ten listings in detail
HP 17-inch Business Laptop (Ryzen 5, 16GB, 512GB SSD)
This is the strongest new configuration here: a Ryzen 5 (model number not given), 16GB of RAM, a 512GB SSD and a 17.3-inch Full HD display with a numeric keypad. For spreadsheet-heavy days, the big screen and keypad count as much as the chip.
The title promises ‘Office 365 for the web’, which is the browser edition, so do not expect desktop Word and Excel. ‘2026 Edition’ and ‘Latest’ are marketing words, not specifications. Because the Ryzen 5 generation is unstated, ask the seller or check the product page before assuming it is a recent part. The ‘long battery life’ claim has no number attached. Windows 11 is named without an edition, so confirm Home or Pro if you need BitLocker or domain join, and check USB-C and HDMI on the product page, since the title lists no ports.
Pros
- 16GB RAM and 512GB SSD, the best pairing of the new listings
- Large Full HD screen with numeric keypad
- Windows 11 stated
Cons
- Ryzen model and generation are unnamed
- A 17-inch body is bulky for commuting
Who it’s for: Office workers who stay at a desk and want room for spreadsheets.
Who should skip it: Anyone who carries a laptop daily and values weight over screen size.
Dell Latitude 5420 (Renewed, Core i5-1145G7, 16GB, 256GB)
Latitude is Dell’s business line, and this renewed 14-inch listing names an 11th-generation Core i5-1145G7, 16GB of DDR4, a 256GB SSD and Windows 11 Pro. Eleventh-generation Intel chips meet Windows 11’s processor list, which makes this one of the safest renewed buys here.
‘Renewed’ means refurbished by a third party, so read what the seller promises about battery condition, cosmetic grade and warranty before relying on it. The title also mentions a camera and HDMI. Ask whether the charger is included, since that detail is not stated, and treat Dell’s own warranty as unlikely to apply to a renewed unit. Business-line laptops often add a fingerprint reader or docking support, but this title does not list them, so confirm what the specific unit has.
Pros
- Business-class model with Windows 11 Pro
- 16GB RAM
- 11th-generation processor
Cons
- Renewed: battery wear is unknown
- Seller or refurbisher support varies
Who it’s for: Employees who want business features and 16GB of RAM at a restrained outlay.
Who should skip it: People who want a full manufacturer warranty on a factory-new unit.
Lenovo Business 15.6-inch (8GB DDR5, 128GB)
The title lists Wi-Fi 6, USB-C, a Type-C hub, 8GB DDR5 and a 15.6-inch Full HD screen, plus Copilot AI and 1TB of cloud storage. The processor is only ‘Intel Processor’, so the real chip is unknown from the title.
The 128GB of internal storage is small, and the 1TB of cloud storage is a subscription-type perk, not a drive. Check how long the cloud and Office offers last and what happens when they end. The Copilot wording refers to a software feature of Windows, not extra hardware, so it should not drive the decision. Compare the two storage claims, 128GB internal and 1TB cloud, against your real file sizes, and confirm the Windows edition, since the title says only Windows 11.
Pros
- Wi-Fi 6 and USB-C named
- 8GB of DDR5
- Hub included per title
Cons
- Processor not identified
- 128GB internal storage is limited
Who it’s for: Light office users who want modern wireless and a hub out of the box.
Who should skip it: Anyone who needs to know the processor generation before buying.
NIAKUN 15.6-inch (Windows 11 Pro, 8GB, 256GB)
NIAKUN stands out for listing Windows 11 Pro, 8GB of RAM and a 256GB SSD in a low tier, with Office 365 included and a mini HDMI port. The processor is only ‘Intel Pentium’, no model number, so its speed class is unknown.
The ‘6H battery’ claim is short next to the 12-hour claims on other listings, which hints at a smaller battery or a more honest figure. The brand is lesser known, so investigate how repairs and returns are handled. Mini HDMI needs a specific cable or adapter, so factor that into any second-monitor plan. The title’s phrasing reads like marketing copy, so check that the product page shows a consistent specification table before ordering.
Pros
- Pro edition for encryption features
- 8GB RAM with 256GB SSD
- Mini HDMI for a monitor
Cons
- Pentium model not stated
- Six-hour battery claim is modest
- Small-brand support
Who it’s for: Budget buyers who want Windows 11 Pro and a larger SSD.
Who should skip it: Workers who sit away from outlets all day.
Dell Latitude 7480 (Renewed, Core i5-6300U, 8GB, 256GB)
A 14-inch business body with an i5-6300U, 8GB of RAM, a 256GB SSD and Windows 11 Pro. The i5-6300U is a 6th-generation chip, older than the 8th-generation baseline in Microsoft’s Windows 11 requirements, so check how the seller installed Windows 11 and whether updates are expected.
It is a legacy-hardware answer to an inexpensive business laptop: a business-class body, but aged. Older units also tend to have older wireless standards and slower ports, and the title does not list either. Being renewed, battery health and cosmetic grade depend on the refurbisher, so read the grade description closely. Plan to run Windows Update fully on day one, and keep recovery media if the seller supplies it, because a legacy chip leaves little margin for driver surprises.
Pros
- Business-class chassis
- 8GB RAM and 256GB SSD
- Windows 11 Pro stated
Cons
- Processor is two years older than the Windows 11 baseline
- Renewed battery wear is unknown
Who it’s for: Shoppers who need a cheap secondary machine for documents and web apps.
Who should skip it: Anyone who needs long-term Windows updates or modern wireless.
HP 15.6-inch (Intel N200, 4GB, 128GB SSD)
This listing names an Intel quad-core N200, 4GB of RAM and a 128GB SSD, with Windows 11 Home in S mode and Microsoft 365. The ‘2027 Edition’ label is marketing wording; no model year is a specification.
In S mode you can install only Microsoft Store apps unless you switch out, which suits a locked-down browser workflow but not specialist software. At 4GB of RAM, an office suite plus a video call will strain the system, so treat it as a light-duty terminal for web apps. Updates still arrive in S mode; the limit is software choice, not security patches. The ‘long battery life’ wording gives no hour figure. The N200 sits in the same entry-level family as the N150 listings below, so do not pay extra for the model number alone.
Pros
- SSD rather than eMMC
- 15.6-inch screen
- Microsoft 365 mentioned
Cons
- 4GB RAM is tight
- S mode restricts business software
Who it’s for: Browser-based admin and email jobs.
Who should skip it: Anyone running desktop business applications or a VPN client.
HP 14-inch Business Laptop (Quad-Core N150, 4GB, 128GB UFS)
A compact 14-inch HP-branded laptop with Intel’s N150 quad-core, 4GB RAM, 128GB UFS flash, a one-year Office 365 offer, Windows 11 Home and bundled earphones. UFS is soldered flash, faster than older eMMC but still not a standard SSD.
The brand field shows a reseller, which points to a third-party configuration, so ask who supports it. Unlike its sibling below, this one does not add an SD card to the storage claim, which makes the 128GB figure honest. The bundled earphones are a convenience, not a reason to choose it. Wi-Fi 6 is named, which helps in a busy office, but the title says nothing about HDMI, so check for a monitor port. With 4GB of memory and no stated slot, assume the RAM cannot be upgraded, so buy it only if email and web forms are your whole workload.
Pros
- Compact 14-inch body
- One-year Office 365
- Quad-core N150 named
Cons
- 4GB RAM
- Reseller configuration, warranty unclear
Who it’s for: Email, web forms and documents.
Who should skip it: Multitaskers and anyone who needs local storage.
HP 14-inch LED Business Laptop (N150, 4GB, 640GB claim)
This is a near-duplicate of the previous listing: the same N150, 4GB of RAM and 128GB UFS, but with Windows 11 S and a 512GB SD card counted toward a 640GB headline figure. Do not read 640GB as internal storage.
A card is removable, slower and not a place for Windows or business apps. Treat the two N150 listings as variants of one product and pick whichever offers the better seller terms. Willow Green is a colour option and says nothing about speed. The S mode here is the more restrictive of the two, and the colour option is the only visible difference beyond the card. If the seller offers both versions, compare return terms before specifications, because the hardware underneath is described identically.
Pros
- Same quad-core N150
- Extra card space for files
- Colour option listed
Cons
- 640GB is misleading
- S mode limits installs
Who it’s for: Buyers who want a spare card for archives.
Who should skip it: Anyone expecting 640GB of fast storage.
Phatom 15.6-inch FHD (4GB RAM, 128GB SSD, upgradeable)
The Phatom title lists a 15.6-inch Full HD screen, 4GB of RAM, a 128GB SSD and ‘upgradeable RAM+SSD’ with support up to 2TB and 1080P HDMI. The phrase ‘Windows 11 Compatible’ is not the same as ‘Windows 11 included’, so confirm what ships.
‘Pentium (Beats Celeron)’ is a seller comparison, and the Pentium model is unnamed. An upgradeable base is useful, but you take on the cost and effort of upgrading, and opening the case may affect the seller’s warranty terms. The 1080P HDMI output suggests a monitor can be attached, though the title does not name the port size. The brand is little known, so verify returns. Ask whether Windows 11 ships activated and whether the RAM sits in a socket or is soldered, because upgrade wording is only as good as the physical slot.
Pros
- Upgrade path claimed
- HDMI output
- SSD storage
Cons
- 4GB RAM to start
- Windows may not be preinstalled
- Little-known brand
Who it’s for: Tinkerers comfortable adding memory later.
Who should skip it: Buyers who want it ready for work out of the box.
HP Ultrabook 14 (Quad-Core Intel, specs unstated)
The title promises a 14-inch HP Ultrabook with a quad-core Intel CPU, Windows 11 Home and lifetime Microsoft Office for the web. It does not state RAM, storage or the processor model, so you cannot compare it to the others.
Office for the web is the browser edition, and ‘lifetime’ needs clarifying. The ‘2025’ in the title is wording, not a specification. Ask the seller for the exact configuration before treating this as a business tool, and be cautious if the product page still omits RAM and storage. Until the missing specifications appear, treat it as an unknown rather than a bargain, since a low price on an unspecified laptop is not evidence of value.
Pros
- Windows 11 Home stated
- 14-inch portable form
- Office for the web mentioned
Cons
- RAM and storage unknown
- Processor model unknown
Who it’s for: Shoppers who confirm the missing specifications first.
Who should skip it: Anyone who needs a clear spec sheet to decide.
How we picked
We took the listings supplied for this keyword and kept every laptop whose title mentions business use, Windows 11 and a screen size. We sorted them by what a work machine needs: RAM, the type of storage, the edition of Windows, and whether the title names the processor. Dollar prices, ratings and review counts are excluded. Information comes from published specifications, manufacturer documentation and buyer reviews. Nobody on the team used or measured these units. Titles are seller claims, so comparisons such as ‘beats Celeron’ are flagged.
Choosing a cheap business laptop
New budget or renewed enterprise?
A renewed Latitude buys a better chassis, ports and often a Pro edition of Windows for the same money as a new entry-level machine. The cost is unknown battery wear and a shorter warranty. A new budget laptop has a clean battery and a fresh warranty but an entry-level processor and often 4GB of RAM. Decide by workload: heavy multitasking favours renewed, light browser work favours new. Whichever you pick, find out the return policy, since a faulty battery or a stuck key is easiest to fix in the first days.
CPU class and Windows 11 support
N-series chips (N150, N200) are efficient entry-level quad-cores. Core i5 U-series chips are a step up. Intel 8th-generation and newer are on Microsoft’s Windows 11 list, and 6th-generation chips are not, so check how Windows 11 reached the machine and whether updates arrive. Titles that say only ‘Intel Processor’ or ‘Pentium’ hide the real speed class, so ask for the model. More cores help with many background tasks, while a U-series chip in a Latitude usually sustains office loads better than a low-power one.
RAM and SSD sizing
Use these figures as a minimum, not a target, and add headroom if the memory cannot be upgraded later.
| Task | RAM | Storage |
|---|---|---|
| Email, browser, Office in the browser | 8GB | 128GB |
| Desktop Office, video calls, many tabs | 16GB | 256GB |
| Accounting, CRM, VPN, big spreadsheets | 16GB | 512GB |
Upgrade and warranty notes
RAM and SSD upgrade claims are only useful if the case opens without damage and a slot exists. LPDDR or UFS parts are soldered. Renewed machines often carry a seller warranty rather than the manufacturer warranty; the exact term is on the product page, not in the title.
Battery claims and charging
Battery hours in titles, from 6H to 12 hours, are seller numbers, probably measured on light tasks. Calls and a bright screen lower them. Check whether the charger is included and whether USB-C charging is supported, which lets one cable serve desk and bag.
Security basics for work data
Windows 11 requires a TPM 2.0 module, so most laptops that officially support it have one. BitLocker device encryption needs the Pro edition on many machines, which is why a Pro label matters if you handle client data. A fingerprint reader or a webcam shutter is a bonus, not a substitute for a strong password and automatic updates.
Decoding the Office wording
Titles use three different phrases. ‘Office 365 for the web’ or ‘Office for the web’ is the browser edition. ‘1-Year Office 365’ implies a time-limited subscription that you must renew. ‘Microsoft 365’ without detail needs checking. Ask whether desktop apps are included before assuming Word and Excel install locally.
Webcam, ports and screen
Look for HDMI or USB-C video for a second monitor, Wi-Fi 6 for busy offices, and a Full HD panel. Business work now means video calls, so a camera and microphone matter. Screen brightness is rarely listed, and a dim panel is tiring in an office with windows. Budget laptops often have basic cameras; a separate webcam for a PC or laptop is a cheap upgrade for client calls. If a title is silent on ports, count on USB-A for a mouse and check for an Ethernet jack only when the listing names one.
Seven common mistakes
- Buying 4GB of RAM for a work machine, then fighting slowdowns every time a call and a spreadsheet run together.
- Counting an SD card in the storage total. Cards are removable and slower than the internal drive.
- Ignoring S mode until a business app refuses to install.
- Assuming a renewed battery is as good as new. Wear is unknown unless the seller states a battery grade.
- Trusting ‘Windows 11 compatible’ to mean it is installed, or assuming a 6th-generation chip will get every update.
- Skipping questions when the title omits the processor or RAM. A missing spec is usually not a good one.
- Chasing the newest year label. A 2026 or 2027 Edition tag is title wording, not a specification, and an older Latitude with a clear spec sheet can beat a vaguer new listing.
Verdict
For a new laptop, the HP 17-inch Ryzen 5 has the best listed configuration. For lowest outlay with real business hardware, the renewed Dell Latitude 5420 is the one to look at first. Keep the 4GB models for email-only roles, and ask questions before buying any listing with missing specifications. If you need Windows 11 Pro on a tight outlay, NIAKUN and the Latitudes are the ones to compare, with the Lenovo for buyers who want a hub and Wi-Fi 6. Check the seller’s return terms on whichever you choose.
Questions
Is a renewed Dell Latitude a good inexpensive business laptop?
Often, yes, because the chassis, ports and Windows 11 Pro edition are business grade. Check the processor generation, the battery claim and who gives the warranty. An 11th-generation chip such as the i5-1145G7 is a safer renewed buy than a 6th-generation i5-6300U, because Windows 11 support is clearer.
How much RAM should an inexpensive business laptop have?
Choose 8GB for browser work and light Office use, and 16GB for desktop Office, video calls and many tabs together. A 4GB machine meets the Windows 11 minimum but becomes slow quickly. Check if memory is upgradable, because soldered RAM cannot be added later, and buy the larger amount if it is.
What does Windows 11 in S mode mean for work?
S mode runs only apps from the Microsoft Store. You can leave it for free, but not return. Business tools such as VPN clients or accounting packages may need the switch, so confirm with your IT team before buying. Some employers require the full Windows edition for managed devices, and the switch is quick.
Does Office 365 for the web mean Word and Excel are installed?
No. The web edition runs in a browser and has fewer features than the desktop apps. A 1-year subscription also expires. Ask the seller exactly what is included, because titles vary and the wording is sometimes loose. A lifetime claim may refer only to the web edition, so ask for details before buying.
Can I trust an SD card total in the storage line?
Not for Windows or work apps. Cards are removable and slower than the internal drive, so only the internal capacity counts for system use. Use a card for archives and back up important files elsewhere, since a removable card is easy to lose or corrupt, and never keep the only copy of client files on it.
Related guides
- Gaming Chairs For Tall People Over 6 Foot 3
- How To Install A Motherboard In A Pc Case
- Motherboards For Ryzen 9 7950X3D